ICC Champions Trophy 2017-Pak vs India Final

The 2017 ICC Champions Trophy was a 50-over cricket tournament that took place in England and Wales in June 2017. It was the eighth edition of the Champions Trophy, and was contested by the top eight teams in the world according to the ICC ODI Rankings.

Pakistan won the toss and  bat first. The team got off to a good start, with openers Fakhar Zaman and Azhar Ali putting on a solid partnership. Zaman was particularly aggressive, scoring runs at a fast pace. He reached his century off just 92 balls, and finished with 114 runs off just 106 balls. Ali also scored 76 runs, and together the two batsmen put on 128 runs for the first wicket.

After their dismissal, Pakistan’s middle order batsmen were unable to maintain the same level of scoring, and the team lost wickets at regular intervals. However, they were able to push the score past 300 thanks to some useful contributions from their lower order batsmen. Pakistan’s final total was 338/4.

India’s chase got off to a poor start, with their top three batsmen being dismissed for cheap scores. Rohit Sharma was the first to go, falling for just 1 run. Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli followed soon after, with scores of 21 and 5 respectively. The pressure was on the middle order to repair the damage and try to get India back into the game, but they were unable to do so.

Despite a valiant effort from the likes of Hardik Pandya (76 runs) and MS Dhoni (51 runs), India fell well short of the target and were all out for 158 runs. As a result, Pakistan won the match by 180 runs and became the champions of the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. Fakhar Zaman was named the player of the match for his century.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *